AFSCME Council 18 Endorsements - New Mexico


 As people in public service, we know what a difference it makes when we elect leaders who have our backs. We deserve leaders who respect our work and that’s why we fight.  Please take a moment below to see our list of endorsed candidates for 2020.  Please come back frequently because we will update this list on a regular basis.

If you haven't already, please request an absentee ballot for the upcoming primaries in June.  The sooner you request, the less complicated for the County Clerks and the less risk for election workers.  Click here to be directed to the Secretary of State website.

Endorsements as of May 27, 2020

Federal Races

President - Joe Biden

US Senate - Ben Ray Luján

US House District 1 - Debra Haaland

US House District 2 - Xochitl Torres Small

New Mexico State Senate

SD3:  Shannon Pinto

SD4:  George Munoz

SD5:  Richard Martinez

SD8:  Pete Campos

SD10:  Katy Duhigg

SD12:  Jerry Ortiz y Pino

SD14:  Michael Padilla

SD16:  Antoinette Sedillo Lopez

SD17:  Mimi Stewart

SD18:  Bill Tallman

SD21:  Athena Christodoulou

SD23:  Harold Pope

SD24:  Nancy Rodriguez

SD25:  Peter Wirth

SD26:  Jacob Candelaria

SD28:  Siah Correa Hemphill

SD29:  Paul Baca

SD31:  Joseph Cervantes

SD33:  Denise Lang-Brown

SD35:  John Arthur Smith

SD36:  Jeff Steinborn

SD39:  Liz Stefanics

New Mexico State House

HD7:  Santos Griego

HD9:  Patricia Lundstrom

HD10:  Andres Romero

HD11:  Javier Martinez

HD13:  Patricia Roybal Caballero

HD14:  Miguel Garcia

HD15:  Day Hochman-Vigil

HD17:  Debbie Armstrong

HD18:  Gail Chasey

HD20:  Meredith Dixon

HD21:  Debbie Sariñana

HD22:  Jessica Velasquez

HD23:  Daymon Ely

HD24:  Liz Thomson

HD25:  Christine Trujillo

HD27:  Marian Matthews and William Orr - DUAL ENDORSE

HD28:  Melanie Stansbury

HD29:  Joy Garrett

HD30:  Natalie Figueroa

HD31:  Julie Brenning

HD34:  Ray Lara

HD35:  Angelica Rubio

HD37:  Joanne Ferrary

HD38:  Karen Whitlock

HD39:  Rudy Martinez

HD40:  Roger Montoya

HD42:  Kristina Ortez

HD43:  Christine Chandler

HD44:  Gary Tripp

HD46:  Andrea Romero

HD47:  Brian Egolf

HD50:  Matthew McQueen

HD52:  Doreen Gallegos

HD53:  Willie Madrid

HD57:  Billie Helean

HD63:  Randal Brown

HD65:  Derrick Lente

HD68:  Karen Bash

Bernalillo County Commission

District 2:  Steven Michael Quezada

Rio Arriba County Commission

District 3:  Moises Peña

Santa Fe County Commission

District 2:  Anna Hansen

District 5:  Hank Hughes

Sandoval County Commission

District 2: Leah Ahkee Baczkiewicz

District 4:  Alexandria Piland