"Right to Work" for Less coming up in House and Senate this week (2018 Session Update #6)

UPDATE 2/6 at 4:01PM - Right to Work for LESS legislation is dead in Senate Public Affairs. long live our UNION!
This week, put the brakes on Union busting in New Mexico.
Two "right to work" bills will be heard in committee at the Roundhouse this week. Please attend hearings in House Labor and
Senate Public Affairs if you're able, and please make phone calls to oppose these laws designed to destroy unions.

Need a quick refresher on why working people are opposed to these falsely named laws?

CLICK HERE for a short piece on harmful impacts of Right to Work Laws [PDF], and watch this short youtube video, as well.

CLICK to watch Your Labor Minute

Tuesday, February 6

Senate Public Affairs is expected to hear a so called "Right to Work" bill, SB 179, on Tuesday afternoon in Senate Public Affairs, room 321.  Please contact members of that committee and ask them to stand strong with working people by voting "NO" on SB 179.

Please be kind to the people answering the phone--regardless of how their legislator is voting, they are simply working for all of us and deserve our respect.  

Email Senate Public Affairs, CLICK HERE

Chair Gerald Ortiz y Pino (D-Albuquerque)
[email protected]

Vice Chair Bill O’Neill (D-Albuquerque)
[email protected]
Craig Brandt (R-Rio Rancho)
[email protected]
Stuart Ingle (R-Portales)
[email protected]
Liz Stefanics (D-Cerrillos)
[email protected]
Jeff Steinborn (D-Las Cruces)
[email protected]
Mimi Stewart (D-Albuquerque)
[email protected]
Candice Gould (R-Albuquerque)
[email protected]gis.gov

Wednesday, February 7

House Bill 169, also a "Right to Work" for less law, is scheduled to be heard around 1:30 p.m. in Room 315, unless they move it to a bigger space to accommodate the anticipated large turnout. HB 169 is sponsored by four Republicans: Reps. Scott, Townsend, Wooley, and Nibert.

Here's a list of House Labor members to call (all area code 505) and email to ask to vote "no" on HB 169.

Email House Labor: CLICK HERE

Chair Bill McCamley (D-Las Cruces)
[email protected]
Vice Chair Linda Trujillo (D-Santa Fe)
[email protected]
Miguel Garcia (D-Albuquerque)
[email protected]
Stephanie Garcia Richard (D-Los Alamos)
[email protected] nmlegis.gov
Angelica Rubio (D-Las Cruces)
[email protected]
Sheryl Williams Stapleton (D-Albuquerque)
[email protected]
Gail Armstrong (R-Soccorro)
[email protected]
Rebecca Dow (R-Truth or Consequences)
[email protected]
David Gallegos (R-Eunice)
[email protected]
Rick Little (R-Chaparral)
[email protected]
Rod Montoya (R-Farmington)
[email protected]
(note the two "d"s--that's how legislative website has it)

As always, if you hear anything or have any questions, please do not hesitate to you political action team at [email protected]

Sign Up for Special Legislative Updates and Call to Action HERE.

AFSCME Political Action Team, Carter Bundy and Josh Anderson